Survivor Mom

Surviving military life with 4 children and a passion for saving money every way I possibly can!

What’s the Secret?? Part 1 February 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — wifey2kevin @ 10:50 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve gotten a lot of questions about HOW I often get items for cheap or even free. Well, I’m happy to say that there is NO SECRET! ANYONE can do this!!!! The whole philosophy is to stockpile and buy enough of an item at it’s rock bottom price to last you until it goes on sale again. Once you build up a good stockpile, you will essentially, “shop” at your own house when you need something in between sales.

COUPONS

I first want to emphasize that using coupons alone are *not* the best way to save money. Most of the time, it would still be cheaper to buy a generic brand than use a coupon on a regular priced item.  However, when you pair coupons WITH sales, you can get great deals. While I realize some people say they don’t have the time to clip coupons, I assure you once you take a little time to learn the process, it doesn’t take much time at all.

Having your coupons organized is a must! There are many ways to do this, and the way *I* do it may not be the way *you* do it. Here is my coupon box.

My coupon box was ordered through this site(scroll down a little). It fits perfectly in the baby part of the buggy. I started out with a much smaller coupon organizer, but as my addiction to saving money grew, so did my coupon organizer. 😉  So, inside my box, I have separators. Again, when I first started out, I had less categories than I do now. To give you an idea, a few of my categories are: frozen items, boxed items, canned/jarred/shelved items, hair care, body care,baby items. You can change the categories to fit your family/needs.

Some couponers use a binder and baseball card holders to organize their coupons. While I don’t have first hand experience with this method, you can read more about it here(click on “day 5”).

I would highly recommend getting more than one Sunday paper. In order to stockpile, you will need to buy more than one or two of an item to get a sufficient supply. Before you think, “I have to *buy* multiple Sunday papers??”, think outside the box. Check with neighbors that get the Sunday paper and see if they will give you their coupon inserts. Another idea is to check recycle bins. Americans throw away MILLIONS of dollars every year when they throw coupons out. Don’t be afraid to go out and get them!!!

 

TOOLS

There are a couple websites that I use when I go shopping. Both of these websites are FREE and I HIGHLY recommend subscribing to these two sites to get a daily email. In this daily email you will get all sorts of deals and tips on saving money. Everything is laid out for you too. All you have to do is copy and paste, print and shop.

The Krazy Coupon Lady

This site is awesome!!! When you go to this site, remember to subscribe and then check out the “beginners” tab on the home page. You will then find how to become a “Krazy Coupon Lady in ten days”. These are great tips when you are starting out. This site also has a HUGE coupon database. You can look up coupons by item name.

Money Saving Mom

This site lists the deals at just about any store you can imagine. To find your store, click on the “Store Deals” tab on the home screen.

**Please click on picture to enlarge**

From there you can find your store in alphabetical order.

Once you find your store and click on it, you will find all the current deals for that week at your store.

I pulled up the deals for Target to show you. You can see, the dates that these sale prices are good is shown at the top. After that, it lists the items that are on sale, the exact coupons to use with the item, and the final price it will be after the coupons are deducted.

When I’m going through these lists, I just have a notebook and pen ready and write them down exactly as I see them. Once I have my items written down and I know exactly what I’m going to be getting, I will go through my coupon box and pull out all the coupon I will need. I will then either put them in an envelope or the front of my coupon box so they are handy when I need them. Even though I already have the coupons I *know* I will need pulled out, I NEVER leave my coupon box at home because you NEVER know if you might come across an unadvertised deal or not. Here is a great example of why you should never leave your coupons at home.

 

To be continued…

 

 

Leave a Reply

